1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overpaying your mortgage

Discussion in 'Cardiff City Forum' started by Bernie Clifton, 13 May 2019.

1. Bernie Clifton

Bernie Clifton Club and Country Superstar

Ratings:
    +734 / 25 / -1
    How much do you need to overpay by to make a difference? Mine is 630ish a month and I've rounded it up to 700 and pay that. Will it make a difference in getting it down quicker?

• Interesting Interesting x 2
  2. CCFC_27

CCFC_27 Wales Call Up

Ratings:
    +382 / 13 / -3
    I think it can do, depends how long the mortgage is set for and what interest you're paying, etc. Not that I'm an accountant, speak to one of them, it's probably worth the cost or people wouldn't use them

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to view full quote
  3. Mad Al

Mad Al Ballon d'Or Winner
    🏆 GOLD MEMBER 🏆

Ratings:
    +11,557 / 107 / -14
    Paid ours off 6 years early, I chucked everything I had at it just to get rid and be debt free. Was worth the sacrifices made and would do it again if necessary.

• Agree Agree x 4
  4. TDA

TDA slightly clapped out ninja
    🏆 GOLD MEMBER 🏆 🎲 GAMESMASTER 🎲

Ratings:
    +7,490 / 240 / -24
    It will make a difference whether the interest is calculated daily, monthly or annually. You also need to ensure that I overpayment is applied to the balance immediately not annually.

I think @Hillyboy61 is the one to aski.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Steve R

Steve R Ballon d'Or Winner

Ratings:
    +11,451 / 524 / -59
    Your Mortgage company should have an overpayment calculator online. Ours does. :thumbup:

Even an extra £20 a month will make a difference surely?

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Joecity

Joecity Ballon d'Or Winner
    🏆 GOLD MEMBER 🏆 PICKEM World Cup 1st

Ratings:
    +17,907 / 251 / -62